May J. – Baby Girl

DO tha’ DO tha’
2.5
MY GIRLS
2.5
DESTINATION D.O.I. Hip Hop mix feat. TARO
2.5
Dear…
3.5
why why why…
3.5
HERE WE GO
2.5
YOU
2.5
Jealous Girl
2.5
Baby Eyes -DJ WATARAI Remix-
2.5
Feel the Sunshine
3.5
Don’t worry dear my boy
2.5

thoughts. B+.
I was into May J. a long time ago and kinda lost interest in her. I got curious about her a year ago because I was very surprised that she was still releasing music (a lot of artists like her disappear after awhile). I picked her back up last year and shockingly find that I am really enjoying her albums moreso than I thought I would. Baby Girl is her debut album; she was more of an RnB artist when she first came out then changed her sound to pop around her sophomore album. Baby Girl is actually pretty good for a debut, with some real hidden gems on it. May J.’s voice is really nice too. I honestly thought I would get bored with her new sound and drop her, but just like with BENI I like it and it suits her more, I believe. I do miss this nice rnb sound from her, however I do think that her switching up her style was a good move. Rnb tends to get a bit stale if you don’t shake it up.

  • favorite track – Feel the Sunshine
    least favorite track – DO tha’ DO tha’
    guilty pleasure track – MY GIRLS
    under-rated track – Dear…

270px-May_J_Baby_Girl