Faith Hill – Breathe – 3.5 (2000)
Life house – Hanging By A Moment – 3.5 (2001)
Nickel back – How You Remind Me (2002)
50 Cent – In Da Club – 1.5 (2003)
Usher – Yeah! feat. Lil Jon + Ludacris – 2.5 (2004)
Marian Carey – We Belong Together – 3.5 (2005)
Daniel Power – Bad Day – 2.5 (2006)
Beyonce – Irreplaceable – 3.5 (2007)
Flo Rida feat. T-Pain – Low – 2.5 (2008)
Black Eyed Peas – Boom Boom Pow – 2.5 (2009)
Ke$ha – TiK ToK – 2.5 – (2010)
Adele – Rolling in the Deep – 3.5 (2011)
Gotye feat. Kimbre – Somebody That I Used to Know – 3.5 (2012)
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis feat. Wanz –Thriftshop – 2.5 (2013)
Pharell Williams – Happy – 2.5 (2014)
Mark Ronsom feat. Bruno Mars – Uptown Funk – 3.5 (2015)
Justin Bieber – Love Yourself – 2.5 (2016)

This is something I just decided to do since I’m curious to see what the top 100 songs of the last 16 years have been. I will be going down the list from one to one hundred and even though it’s the first go round I’m really surprised at some of the number one’s. We start off with Faith Hill whose song Breathe was the number one in 2000. I loved this song; just gorgeous. I did not know it came out around this time though. Second is Lifehouse Hanging By A Moment a song in which I vaguely remember (was number one in 2001), but nevertheless it’s a good song. Nickelback had the number one song in 2002 with How You Remind Me. It’s a pretty lame, slightly grating song but not to bad. Lord, I’m surprised and not surprised with 2003’s number one song, 50 Cent’s In Da Club. I’m sorry (not really), but even when this song was everywhere I absolutely hated it. I still do. Usher had the 2004 number one song with Yeah! feat. Lil Jon and Ludacris. I remember hearing this song all the freaking time, it was like U Got It Bad all over again. I enjoyed it when it first came out, but quickly tired of it. I am not surprised with 2005’s number one song; Mariah Carey’s We Belong Together. This was my jam. We go from that to an absolute snooze of a song, Daniel Powter’s Bad Day which I remember only because it was the farewell song from that year’s American Idol. I liked it then, but now it’s just meh to me. 2007 it was of course Beyonce’s smash Irreplaceable. I am by no means a Stan or even a fan, but I loved this song. It was my anthem. OK… I am too surprised with Flo Rida’s Low feat. T-Pain being the number one song of 2008; yet when I really think about it I shouldn’t be cause they played that irritatingly catchy song out. I cannot stand The Black Eyed Peas, they’re so obnoxious to me. Having said that I’m not surprised that Boom Boom Pow was the number one song of 2009, they were everywhere a few years back. Ke$ha’s TiK ToK is another song where I am both surprised and not surprised that it hit number one. I caught on a bit late because I thought the song was stupid and I still do. Adele’s Rolling in the Deep from 2011 is a pretty good one though, which is crazy because I didn’t care for it when it first came out. Gotye feat. Kimbre Somebody That I Used To Know was the number one song of 2012, and it’s an interesting one because I don’t remember it at all. Fairly good song though. Macklemore and Ryan Lewis feat. Wanz Thriftshop was the number one song of 2013. I remember hearing this song a lot on the radio but strangely not during 2013, I thought it came out much later. Catchy, but not a song I care to listen to. I HATE Pharell Williams song Happy, it doesn’t make me happy, it does however annoy the crap out of me. So not surprised it was the number one son of 2014, heard it all the blasted time, much to my chagrin. Mark Ronsom feat. Bruno Mars Uptown Funk is the number one song of 2015, unsurprisingly really. I thought this was a Bruno Mars song…? Anyway, I caught on late and even though I do like this song, for some reason 24K Magic is just better to me. The last song is from Justin Bieber Love Yourself. I don’t know why this is shocking to me, but he had better songs like What Do You Mean? for example. This song got old quick to me.

  • favorite hit – We Belong Together/Irreplaceable
    least favorite hit – In Da Club/Happy
    guilty pleasure hit – Rolling In The Deep/Somebody That I Used To Know
    under-rated hit – Breathe/Hanging By A Moment
