Otsuka Ai – LOVE PUNCH

pretty voice
3.5
Peach Petals
2.5
Cherries
3.5
GIRLY
2.5
Soap Bubbles
2.5
Ishikawa-Osaka Friendship Treaty
2.5
Unrequited Love Dial
2.5
Honey
2.5
Spoiled Child
3.5
Always Together
3.5

thoughts. B+.
Otsuka Ai is one of my favorite artists. I just love how she can be quirky in fun one minute and then serious in deep the next. Ai’s also one of my favorite ballad singers. LOVE PUNCH is her debut album and it’s actually one of the better debut albums I’ve heard. I don’t think I’ve ever disliked it and I find that even though she kept it a bit safe (aside from Spoiled Child) I always enjoy it. It is a bit on the boring side, however unlike LOVE LETTER it is not a bad boring. A few of the songs stand out more than others I will admit that. I liked pretty voice, Soap Bubbles and Honey, but they’re just there while the song is playing, then fades away once the song ends. I’m always pleasantly surprised with Spoiled Child though because I didn’t really like it at first. Ai-chan’s albums are always hit or miss with me and I do find myself sometimes teetering with this album. It’s good, but oddly forgettable to.

  • favorite track – Cherries
    least favorite track – Ishikawa-Osaka Friendship Treaty
    guilty pleasure track – Spoiled Child
    under-rated track – Always Together

275px-OtsukaAiLOVEPunchcd

Leave a Reply

