Mika Nakashima – TRUE

AMAZING GRACE
2.5
ONE SURVIVE
2.5
HEAVEN ON EARTH
3.5
Helpless Rain
3.5
I
3.5
TEARS -Like How Powder Snow Dances…-
3.5
TRUE EYES
2.5
CRESENT MOON
2.5
JUST TRUST IN OUR LOVE
2.5

thoughts. C.
TRUE is Mika Nakashima’s debut album and I can’t really say whether I have a love, hate relationship with her. Mika is one of those rare artists that doesn’t have an album I hate and or dislike. I always find that I like her albums even if some are more memorable than others. If there is an album from her that I may not like it would probably be a split between this album and her NANA album THE END. Whenever I listen to TRUE I either come off disliking it or being indifferent towards it. TRUE always seemed real generic compared to her later albums. I don’t mean generic in a dated way, but in a this just doesn’t sound like her kind of way. I’m glad Mika found her niche with her second album and so on. I honestly don’t think I would like her as much or even continued to keep up with her music if her sound hadn’t evolved and become more polished. This is a decent debut; her voice is shaky but a lot more controlled compared to later albums (where she sounds severely hoarse). She also strains a lot with certain notes. It’s not my favorite, but I think I can appreciate it more now then I did when I first got into her.

  • favorite track – Helpless Rain
    least favorite track – JUST TRUST IN OUR LOVE
    guilty pleasure track – TRUE EYES/HEAVEN ON EARTH
    under-rated track – I

300px-Nakashima_Mika_TRUE

Leave a Reply

