~Minami Taiheiyou~ Samba no Kaori
2.5
Blue Angel
2.5
SQUALL
2.5
Tropical Hero
2.5
Hadashi no Kisetsu
2.5
Cool Gang
2.5
Aoi Sangoshou
2.5
Kugatsu no Yuugure
2.5
Shiosai
2.5

thoughts.
Seiko Matsuda’s debut album SQUALL is pretty uneventful. This is one of those albums in which I come across that I neither like or dislike I just feel like it’s OK, I guess. I don’t know how I feel about Seiko because I always feel indifferent after listening to her albums. She’s the Forever Idol, but her voice is incredibly mediocre to me. It’s not bad, I’ve heard worse and it’s not even one of those voices that’s an acquired taste, it’s just bland and can be nice depending on what song it is and how she is singing it. SQUALL is very forgettable. I won’t say it’s bad cause the songs are decent for the time period they were released in (early 80’s) and the sound Seiko was going for. It’s like lukewarm water, kinda not what I was aiming for; I wanted my water to be a little warmer, but whatever.

  • favorite track – Shiosai
    least favorite track – Cool Gang
    guilty pleasure track – Blue Angel
    under-rated track – Tropical Hero
