Maaya Sakamoto – Grapefruit

Feel Myself
2.5
I And I
2.5
Grapefruit
2.5
A Pimple On My Right Cheek
2.5
Empty the Pocket
3.5
A Orange Color and a Pinky Promise
2.5
Blue Eyes -remix-
3.5
I Don’t Need Promises
3.5
My Best Friend
3.5
The Day When the Wind Blows
3.5

thoughts. B.
Maaya Sakamoto’s debut album Grapefruit (cute name even though Grapefruit is so disgusting to me) is a quiet little album yet also a nice, smooth listen. I think what I like the most about Maaya aside from her really nice and comforting voice, is the fact that she’s a seiyuu but her albums don’t come across sounding like anime soundtracks to me. I know a couple of the songs on here are from Vision of Escaflowne, but they can really stand on their own. Grapefruit can be forgettable as none of the songs really stand, stand out but they’re thoughtful and sincere. It’s one of those rare albums that I don’t mind going back and listening to.

  • favorite track – My Best Friend
    least favorite track – Grapefruit/A Orange Color and a Pinky Promise
    guilty pleasure track – Feel Myself
    under-rated track – The Day When the Wind Blows

300px-Sakamoto_Maaya_-_Grapefruit

Leave a Reply

