EMI MARIA – A Ballad of my Own

Drive
2.5
Ai to Yume no Ai da de
2.5
FOR U
3.5
Ms. DJ
2.5
A×H×O
2.5
Boyfriend
2.5
Girl Standing Strong
2.5
Ame
2.5
A Ballad Of My Own
2.5
I gotta -Winter Kiss-
3.5
LOVE -Tsunaida Te-
2.5

thoughts. B-.
I rock hard for EMI MARIA she makes me think of a more authentic Crystal Kay. I really liked A Ballad of my Own when I first heard it; got into her when I heard her I gotta -Summer Kiss- single by chance and thought oh wow, she’s half black like Kuri-chan and searched for her music. It was a difficult task though and her first mini album is impossible to find. As I said I dug A Ballad of my Own when I first heard it–after repeated listens (as tends to be the case with me in debut albums that I initially like), the novelty wore off. It’s a decent debut, but it’s also incredibly forgettable with the exception of two songs that really stand out to me: FOR U and I gotta -Winter Kiss-. Save for those two it’s just half tracks I like and half tracks I like but they don’t stick with me an come off as filler. It’s crazy ’cause her follow up albums are really good while this one is just strangely bland (especially compared to CONTRAST and BLUE BIRD). A Ballad Of My Own is my least favorite (either this or her In My World). I’d recommend this to fans of her, otherwise check out her follow up albums. EMI has such a good voice too.

  • favorite track – FOR U
    least favorite track – A Ballad Of My Own
    guilty pleasure track – Ame
    under-rated track – Drive

300px-A_Ballad_Of_My_Own

Leave a Reply

