Chihiro Onitsuka – Insomnia

Moonbeam
2.5
Innocence
2.5
BACK DOOR -Album ver.-
2.5
Edge
3.5
We Can Go
3.5
Call
3.5
Shine -Album ver.-
2.5
Cage
3.5

thoughts. B-.
I was so into Chihiro Onitsuka back when I first got into her music. Shine (not the album version) and King of SolitudeĀ were on repeat. I thought she was so interesting and complicated. Chihiro’s music was somber, but incredibly thought provoking an meaningful; she spoke to that lonely, depressed girl inside of me and I soaked her music up like a sponge. I don’t want to talk about her too much (I’ll save that for later reviews), because she has fell off and the last album I really liked from her was LAS VEGAS. Anyway, I did enjoy this album when I first heard it, it’s almost like Beni’s Bitter & Sweet where I loved it at first but after repeated listens it’s just OK to me. It was a decent debut but it’s kinda meh and her sophomore album is much better. I also use to really hate the album version of Shine; the one on her best album is one of my favorite Japanese songs though. I just hate how oddly bland this album is, ’cause some of her best songs are on here.

  • favorite Track – Call
    least Favorite Track – Shine -Album ver.-
    guilty pleasure track – Innocence
    under-rated track – We Can Go

340px-Insomniachi

Leave a Reply

