A Song for xx
4.5
Hana
2.5
FRIEND
3.5
FRIEND II
2.5
pokerface
3.5
YOU
3.5
Trust
2.5
Depend on you
3.5
Present
2.5

thoughts.
As I was with ayaka’s First Message album I am utterly astounded that this album pushed a million copies upon it’s release. It’s a classic album don’t get me wrong, but it definitely does not live up to it’s hype. A Song for xx is dated, generic and because of Ayumi’s mediocre vocals very annoying and sheer ear torture. Despite this it’s not my least favorite album from her (it’s like a tie between Rock ‘n Roll Circus and Party Queen). And for what it’s worth it’s not terrible an even has some nice, genuine songs on it. A Song for xx showcases Ayu when she actually gave a shit about putting out quality music; before she became a product, disillusioned and a shadow of her former self. I’d say pick this up if you’re an Ayumi Hamasaki fan like me or for nostalgia’s sake.

  • favorite track – A Song for xx
    least favorite track – Hana
    guilty pleasure track – Depend on you
    under-rated track – FRIEND/Present
